This should really be called ‘What I’m eating and drinking’ because my most exciting discovery of late is the truly awesome Dogfish Head beer, which I was turned on to after watching Beer Wars. For those of you not in the know, Beer Wars is a documentary focusing on the dominance of the three beer giants here in the US: Budweiser, Miller and Coors.

I’ve always been a conscious consumer but after watching this film hubbie and I were even more determined to support local and micro brewery beers. Not that this is a chore because in reality they taste so much better than that watery awfulness some call lager. There are many Dogfish head beers to choose from but we went for the ‘Raison D’Etre’ variety, which on the bottle describes itself as A deep mahogany ale brewed with Belgian beet sugars, green raisins & a sense of purpose. A beer with a sense of humour? You gotta love that! It is way too easy to drink and without sounding too poncy it’s smooth, rich with just enough fizz (can you tell I’m not exactly a beer connoisseur?). A word of caution though, at 8% Alc. you should take it easy – I felt a little wooly after only two:) I’m looking forward to trying the other Dogfish beers on offer. In fact we have a four pack of ’90 Minute Imperial IPA’ sitting in our fridge as we speak just begging to be opened and they shall be very soon – in honour of St. Patrick and all that!

From beer to fruit – a natural progression! My relationship with the stuff is a complicated one. Complicated in the sense that I don’t eat enough of it. I definitely don’t get my five a day through chowing down on apples and oranges that’s for sure. I think my problem is that much of the fruit available in UK supermarkets is utterly tasteless – i’m sorry, but it is! I’m happy to chop bananas onto my cereal and pick at grapes or berries but I’m not a fan of apples and is it even possible to find a nice peach or nectarine? Usually they’re rock hard and refuse to ripen or they’re completely devoid of any moisture. Recently I chanced upon some delightful pears in a random corner shop in Fulham – I can spot a good fruit when they’re about – which hubbie and I devoured with such gusto fearing for our lives that we’d never find more like it. How sad is that?

The fruit in the US, however, is far superior to the nonsense we are forced to buy in Britain. For this very reason I like to make a point of eating more of the good stuff when I’m in the States. This mainly means lots of citrus and in particular grapefruit. It’s such a refreshing way to start your morning and now that the weather is on the up and up in Chicago I wouldn’t have it any other way.

More American goodies that I cannot resist come in the form of covered pretzels. Does anyone recall when they briefly released chocolate covered pretzels in the UK? I loved those things (especially the white chocolate ones) – the salty sweetness was my idea of snack heaven and I was devastated when they unfathomably stopped selling them:( So, when I was in my local cornershop (a wee gem of a place) the other night and spotted some yoghurt coated pretzels they had to be purchased quick pronto. Holy moly are they good. Lip smacking good. It’s been so difficult not to eat the lot in one go that I’ve had to ration myself to a few a day – I need to fit into a bikini in a few weeks y’know!! They might just be worth it though.

