Let it be noted: I am not a quitter. I think I was brought up on the saying that if you fail, you try, try again. And try I do. So, when my wholewheat bread making was a complete flop I did not wallow for too long. Just a day. Well, failing is exhausting you know! Despite my optimism my second bread making attempt in a week also sucked. Big time. I soaked that (expletive)yeast and yet I had another disaster on my hands. Did I give up? Hell no! I might’ve thrown the flat sorry excuse for a loaf in the bin with all the force I had left in me but I did not give up.

This time (that’s the third attempt in case you’ve lost count) I decided to revert back to my old method of adding the yeast to the dry ingredients and whaddya know, it worked! Don’t ask me how or why because to be perfectly honest I haven’t the foggiest notion. All I care about is that I am now the proud owner of a half eaten loaf of amazingly gorgeous wholewheatness. I’ve clearly gone mad so lets bring it back to baking.

In the midst of all this breadmaking chaos I had to bake something lovely to bring a smile back to my rather forlorn face. Problem number one was that I had no eggs in the house and turning green (metaphorically, but I know it made you giggle) prevented me from going to the corner shop to buy the awful caged hen eggs they sell. I could not have been bothered to traipse all the way to Olivia’s organic market so I had to come up with a better solution. One that didn’t involve eggs. It was then that I chanced (I blatantly just googled it) upon an entire eggless baking site: http://www.egglesscooking.com/ The slogan is priceless – ‘Eggless……yet tasty!’. Initially, I thought it was for vegans and heaven knows I’ve eaten some pretty rank vegan desserts in my time, so I was not entirely convinced. I was wrong, totally not vegan (thank goodness says you) – the inclusion of condensed milk was the giveaway! And…….I just happened to have a can of condensed milk in the cupboard that has been begging to be used for weeks. Bingo!

To say I was impressed with these cookies would be an understatement and I believe everyone else I fed them to (namely my Hubbie and his colleagues) would concur. They totally and utterly rocked in only the way a crunchy on the outside, soft on the in, cookie can. Obviously I’ve amended the recipe to suit because I can’t leave anything alone. I know it can be difficult to find butterscotch chips in the UK so any kind of chip will suffice but the pecans are compulsory, y’hear? Okay, okay, if you’re allergic I’ll let you off but texturely the pecans really do work although try not to chop them too small.

What can I say? At the end of my little baking blitz I sat back and admired my beautiful bread and pretty cookies and it felt good. Nothing can beat the satisfaction you feel after you’ve had a winning day in the kitchen. Here’s to triumph over aversity (a tad melodramatic but what do you expect, I am an actor darlings!).

Ingredients:

1/2 cup, 150g softened butter

1/2 cup, 100g organic cane sugar

2 cups flour, 260g organic unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup, 100g butterscotch chips (or whatever chips you like)

large handful roughly chopped pecans

for the icing:

icing sugar

organic soy milk

(makes 14 large cookies)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit (180C).

In a large bowl cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. I like to use a spatula but you may want to use an electric whisk. Next, beat in the condensed milk.

Combine the flour and baking powder – you can sift if you like but I find it makes very little difference. Then stir into the butter mixture along with the chips and nuts. If it is looking a little dry add some soy milk. I just added a drop or two until I got the consistency I was seeking: you want it fairly firm but not so dry it’ll crumble but equally not so wet that it will not hold its shape.

Line and grease a baking tray. Take a tablespoonful of cookie dough and roll into a ball. Place onto the tray and using the back of a spoon gently flatten – you can use your fingers too. Also, oiling the back of the spoon will make it easier to spread. Don’t flatten them too much as they will spread out further in the oven.

Bake for 15mins. I would err on the side of caution and undercook them – they will harden whilst cooling anyway. Be careful when lifting them off the tray as they will be a little delicate. Place on a cooling rack for up to 20mins before icing.

Combine a few tablespoons of icing sugar with a few drops of soy milk – this is a bit trial and error so add a small amount to begin with. Mix thoroughly until you get a thickish consistency. Hold the spoon at a height and drizzle onto the cookies. Allow to dry and then share and eat:)

For prosperity;)

