One of our favourite haunts in Chicago is Coast Sushi Bar. Even if you don’t like raw fish I can absolutely guarantee you’ll find something to rave about here. They have a sweet potato tempura maki roll that is to die for and being fish eaters ourselves we adore the white dragon: not made of dragon I hasten to add;) But the one dish that I cannot get enough of is their unbelievable spicy miso. I’m a total soup nut anyway so I was always going to like it. What I wasn’t expecting, however, was the cravings. I would find myself daydreaming about this wondrous concoction that as my hubbie quite rightly put it “soothes like a cup of tea”.

If you have a pot of this on the go, you are on a fast track to instant calm. It got to the point where I couldn’t simply wait until our next Coast visit. I needed to have access to an immediate Spicy Miso fix, so I purchased some miso paste, threw all the decipherable (I could’ve asked for their recipe but it’s more fun this way!) ingredients into a pot and literally hoped for the best and the best did indeed transpire. Okay, it’s not exactly like the one in Coast but it sure as hell isn’t far off – hubbie emphatically concurs.

In keeping with my search for Zen, I am well on my way with this little gem. I urge you to join me and raise a cup buddha stylee, chanting with a contented “yummmmmmmm”!

Ingredients:

2 heaped tablespoons miso paste

150g firm tofu

2 spring onions

1/2 jalapeno pepper

salt

Heat a small amount of oil in a large pan.

Finely slice the spring onions and jalapenos. Add to pan for a few minutes – do not allow to colour!

Dice tofu into small pieces. Add to pan, season with salt and cook for a minute or two.

Stir in miso paste. Add a full kettle of boiling water. Turn heat down – don’t let it boil. Encourage the paste to dissolve by frequently stirring. Taste and season.

When it is drinking temperature (pretty much the temp of a nice cup of tea) serve in small bowls and I recommend a using a proper asian soup spoon.

