Just WOW! In all seriousness this is the ultimate in chocolate indulgence and the perfect way to impress guests if you’re having a dinner party. It’s a bonus that it happens to be ridiculously easy to make and when I say ridiculously I mean RIDICULOUSLY! It can also be made well in advance, which takes some of the stress out of catering for a dinner party – you gotta love that:)

When I arrived back in Derry recently, I discovered a can of chestnut puree left over from Christmas – ahhh, what is Christmas without chestnuts?! I’m a little obsessed with the stuff particularly around that festive time of year so it cheered me no end to find this can of lovely, rich excellence waiting for me on my return. What to make, what to make? That indeed was the million dollar question. It definitely called for a dessert of some sort but I was stumped – my brain still isn’t quite in gear from the past few months of hectic nonsense.

This required a google search. To my joy I came across this wonderful blog that is simply chocabloc with fantabulous recipes – it’s teaming with them! I’m jealous as well as being in complete admiration:

http://www.vegalicious.org/

This blog and this dessert require a round of applause – you can maybe hold off until you make it yourself but then you must do so, okay?

Another must is what you serve it with. Vanilla ice-cream. End of. Non-dairy for moi, of course, and I heartily recommend Swedish Glace. Even the ice-cream connoisseurs amongst you are sure to love this brand; it’s the creamiest non-dairy ice cream I’ve tried to date although I have heard wonderful things about BoojaBooja – sadly not available in Northern Ireland yet, boo:(

If you like cheesecake, you are going to love this although I’m wary about calling it a Vegan cheesecake because in no way is this a substitute – it stands alone in its greatness. I myself am not a massive cheesecake lover but this is the lightest, most chocolatey, and in the words of Vegalicious, decadent dessert I have had the pleasure to eat in a long time.  A crowd pleaser of the highest calibre, if you will:) So divine. So lush. So make it! x

ingredients:

1 can sweetened/unsweetened chestnut puree

100g bar of 70% dark chocolate (pref. organic, fairtrade, non-dairy)

1/2 pack digestives (I used Sainsbury’s So Organic, which contain no dairy – winner!)

1 tbsp cocoa powder (yep, you know what I’m gonna say: pref. organic, fairtrade etc.)

4 tbsp organic cane sugar

3 tbsp soy butter

Line a small tin.

Put digestives in a bag (or food processor for extra ease) and bash into crumbs with a rolling pin.

Empty crumbs into a large bowl. Add 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tbsp sugar and 3 tbsp of melted soy butter. Mix thoroughly, empty into tin and evenly spread the mixture. Press down the mixture firmly using either your hands or the back of a spoon (my preference). Place in fridge while you make the topping.

If using unsweetened chestnut puree blend in 3 tbsp of sugar (more if you have a mega sweet tooth but don’t forget there’s chocolate going in too). You could also add a tsp of vanilla essence at this point – I’m going to do this next time around. Melt the chocolate in a double broiler (or microwave) and stir into puree ensuring it is thoroughly combined.

Empty puree mixture onto crumb base and again using the back of a spoon spread evenly to the edges of the tin. Place in fridge for at least an hour – I left mine overnight.

