This week is running away with me at the moment, so I’m squeezing in an uber easy pizza recipe that I hope will hit that end of week spot.

I’m currently working on a little cookery video, which is slowly coming together – hence my lack of posting over the past few days. Don’t worry it’s not me talking to a camera, it’ll be a very stylishly edited together step by step recipe guide – thankyou kind and talented Hubbie:)

For now, however, I’ll have to be making do with some rather poor photographs (although I’ll admit to having a penchant for the vintage hue they possess). To be entirely honest I wasn’t really expecting to blog about this particular recipe but hey ho, here it is!

pizza dough

ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp active dry yeast

1/2 cup lukewarm water

1 tbsp olive oil

I know us non-Americans don’t use cups but since spending time in the States I have abandoned all other measurements. If you don’t have an actual measuring cup just use a small teacup and the results will be the same – my measuring cups are currently in transit and I have been using the teacup method with success. I do warn you though, once you try it this way, you too will be a cup convert!

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients. Make a well in the centre. Add the oil to the water and pour into centre of well.

Using a spoon or hand slowly mix the water/oil into the flour working inwards until all the flour is combined and you end up with a doughy ball. It may be a little sticky – don’t worry about this.

Flour a clean surface and turn the dough out onto it. Knead until you get a smooth, even ball – several minutes should do it.

Oil a bowl (I use the same one as before). Turn the dough ball in the oil, cover with a tea towel and leave to rise in a warm place for an hour or so.

Turn it out onto the floured surface again and gently knock the air out of it with the palm of your hand. Shape into an approximate ball and return to bowl, covered for a further 20mins.

pre-heat oven to the highest possible temperature. Turn over a baking sheet, sprinkle with flour and allow it to heat in the oven at the same time.

Divide the dough in two (or just one large pizza) and roll it out into an oval/round shape. Place onto a chopping board at this stage for easy transfer to the oven. Top with tomato sauce (or pesto!), roasted carrots, sweetcorn, basil and vegan cheese (trust me, this works!) and/or any toppings you fancy. As it is a thin crust pizza I would advise against overloading it.

Transfer to pre-heated baking sheet and bake for 10mins.

n.b. This is a slighlty altered recipe from the ever wonderful SmittenKitchen

roasted carrots:

ingredients:

roasted carrots

handful of finely chopped rosemary and thyme

3 tbsp olive oil

slice carrots very thinly. Transfer to a baking dish, pour over olive oil and sprinkle chopped herbs. Season and toss all the ingredients using your hands until the carrots are evenly coated.

Bake in a preheated oven (180 degrees celsius/350 fahrenheit) oven for 30mins.

Simples.

A side note: I make my tomato sauce using Passata. Also, this pizza works just as well without cheese (vegan or otherwise). I’ve had difficulty finding decent vegan cheese in Ireland so I just leave it off now and it is still delicious.

