My gosh do I love Mexican food! If you have a quick look at my recipe history you’ll soon discover many Mexican inspired dishes that I used to make all the time. Since turning vegan, however, my Mexican dishes have waned a little, as I find my new vegan feet in the kitchen. Feet and food? Ahem, let’s move on!

So, we’ve gathered I love Mexican food and there’s only so many veggie tacos you can eat before you crave enchilladas, quesadillas, chimichangas, need I go on? After browsing some of the many truly amazing vegan blogs out there I was moved to try this wicked enchillada dish. In fact, it wasn’t even a recipe I had discovered but merely a photograph someone had posted of a meal they’d eaten in California or some such place (it appeared sunny and gorgeous – i’m jealous). It looked so good I found myself drooling all over my keyboard and I knew instantly it had to go on my weekly menu.

To my mind it did not disappoint although as I was cooking for my Sister I worried she may compare it to my meat dishes, which she used to love when we lived together – pressure! In my opinion these were better by a long way, as eating them didn’t result in a lying on the sofa in a Mexican coma for several hours after. They happened to taste pretty phenomenal too although it would’ve helped if I hadn’t forgotten to switch the oven on when I first popped them in. I was baffled after checking them periodically and wondering why they didn’t seem as cooked as they should be, grrrr! When they eventually did get baked they went down pretty well. I say pretty well when what I mean to say is that I thought they were stonkingly good and everyone wanted the leftovers for lunch even though there wasn’t really enough to go around! Sometimes it pays not to make things too delicious;)

For the sauce I used passata – kinda obssesed with the stuff – but I think I would water it down further next time just because I’d like the sauce to be less thick. Or indeed just use a can or two of chopped tomatoes. Fine, this is a problem easily rectified. Next, I would cook the beans for a little longer also because I like the texture to be less firm – my personal preference. That’s about it I think. Oh yeah! The sweet potato were absolute perfection and would be an excellent side dish or accompaniment to a whole host of dishes. I’ve just used the last of the paprika though so it’s off to the supermarket with me because I have a feeling I’m going to be wanting these again very very soon:)

ingredients:

1 1/2 cups dried black beans (or two cans cooked)

1 1/2 cups frozen sweetcorn

4 sweet potatoes

1 white onion

1 red onion

6 wholewheat flour tortillas

1 jar passata

3 cloves garlic

1 green chilli

2 red birdseye chilli’s (or scotch bonnets)

2 tsp paprika

1 tbsp dried chilli flakes

zest and juice of 1 lime

handful chopped flat leaf parsley and/or coriander

salt and pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius/350 farhenheit.

Wash the sweet potato and take off any knobbly bits from the outside – do not peel. Cut into large pieces and add to a deep dish or baking tray. Pour over a little oil, sprinkle over the paprika and season. Using your hands toss the sweet potato in the oil and paprika ensuring everything is evenly coated. Bake in oven for 40mins, checking half way through and giving the tray a shake to make sure the potato is not sticking.

If you are using the dried black beans soak them for at least 4 hours. Rinse, transfer to a pot, cover with cold water, bring to the boil for 10mins and then simmer for at least 40mins – but check them to make sure they don’t turn to mush. Drain and rinse. Set aside.

Put the frozen sweetcorn in a bowl, pour over some recently boiled water and leave for 5mins. Drain and set aside.

Finely chop both onions. Heat a little oil in a pan, add the onion, season and leave to sweat for several minutes stirring periodically. Add zest and juice of lime to the pan and stir.

Chop or crush garlic and finely chop the chilli’s. Pour Passata into a large pot and add the garlic, green chilli only and 1/2 cup water to thin out the sauce. Season and bring to a gentle simmer.

When the onion has sufficiently softened, add the red chilli, chilli flakes, black beans and sweetcorn. Cook for several minutes, taste and season if necessary. You may want to add a little water or some extra oil but it’s not essential. At the end add the chopped parsley/coriander.

Take out the sweet potato – you can use the same tray/dish to bake the enchilladas (saving on the washing up!). To each tortilla add a layer of black bean/ sweetcorn mix followed by about six sweet potato chunks. Roll and place in tray. Once you have six filled tortillas pour over the spicy tomato sauce and return tray to oven. Bake for 25-30mins.

Meanwhile you can make an easy guacamole to serve with it:

easy guacamole

ingredients:

1 ripe avocado

juice of 1/2 lime

2 finely chopped spring onions

salt and pepper

optional – a little dash of soy cream:)

Peel and stone the avocado. In a bowl mash avocado with the back of a fork. Season. Add juice of lime. Chop spring onion very finely and add to bowl. Pour in a little cream if using. Mix all the ingredients thoroughly. Taste and season if needed. Place in fridge until enchilladas are ready to be served:)

Fiesta time!!

