We all know I loves me some Mexican so this recipe will come as no surprise to many of you. If you’ve been following my posts lately you will also know I’ve been getting into the recipes of The Delicious Miss Dahl, which are mostly vegetarian and very easy to veganize – my kind of gal.

She’s received rather a lot of flack has our Soph and sometimes I feel I may be alone in my love for her cooking style but then again I never really was one for caring what other people thought.

Some particularly harsh words came from The Spectator:

“Some years ago, Sophie Dahl sold herself as a luxury goods writer. Her articles were exemplary works in banality. Now Dahl wants to usurp Nigella. The Delicious MissDahl televises Dahl the Scribe’s banality.”

Ouch! Whilst it may have made me inwardly chuckle I couldn’t help but wonder if the person writing the words (a certain David Blackburn) wasn’t exactly her target market anyway so who gives a damn what he thinks AND the comparison to Nigella was so obvious it made me yawn. Another criticism is that ‘it isn’t so much a food programme as a lifestyle show’ (yep, yep, we know!) – yet she manages to get through a surprising amount of seriously delicious recipes! Let us have our lifestyle programmes David. In case you hadn’t noticed they get quite a few viewers, are clearly popular and before you start pigeonholing us all, are not only watched by middle class, middle aged women with a penchant for icing and scallops. In other words, take your words and …..okay, I need to cool down a bit. In a nutshell, I like Sophie, Nigella and Kirstie and I don’t care who knows it.

I can’t say this is my favourite Sophie recipe because they’re all bloomin’ good in my opinion. I will, however, be bold enough to say I honestly believe this will turn the tofu naysayers and force them to renounce their non-tofu eating ways – it is that good! Even cooked in a frying pan (I miss my griddle!) they made such an impression I find myself drooling at the mere memory of them.

Don’t worry if you can’t find the vegan ‘cheese’ – just go without or if you’re veggie feel free to use a good melting cheese. The tofu really is the star of the show here and it even urged me to make tofu scramble, which you may have noticed in my previous post. I’ve now fallen for crumbled tofu hook, line and sinker – and believe you me, I was reluctant to begin with – and can’t wait to find more ways to use it; tofu pie anyone? Alright, maybe that’s going a bit far.

Sometimes I think I couldn’t get more excited or enthusiastic about food and then something like this happens. Veganism is truly rocking my world at the moment.

quesadilla

ingredients:

150g (about 1/2 large pack) semi-firm tofu

tsp turmeric

tsp cumin

tsp paprika

2 spring onions

2 roasted red peppers (from a jar)

2 large cloves garlic

1 red chilli

few drops tabasco

handful freshly chopped coriander (cilantro)

olive oil

salt and pepper

4 slices vegan mozzarella

4 tortillas

Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a frying pan. Crumble the tofu and add to pan along with the turmeric, cumin and paprika. Season generously and fry for several minutes.

Finely chop the garlic, chilli and spring onion and add to pan. Cook for a further 5mins.

Chop the red pepper into small pieces and stir into tofu mixture. Add a few drops of tabasco and season to taste.

Either transfer the tofu mixture to a bowl or heat oil in another pan. Assemble the quesadillas – place a small amount of the tofu mixture on one half of the tortilla and top with coriander and ‘cheese’. Fold over and brush with a little oil. Place oiled side onto heated pan and whilst it is cooking you can brush the other side:)

Serve with a yummy quacamole…..

guacamole

ingredients:

1 large ripe avocado

1 tomato

1/2 red onion

juice 1/2 lime

handful chopped coriander

splash of tabasco

salt and pepper

Halve the avocado, remove the stone and remove the flesh using a teaspoon. In a bowl mash the avocado using the back of a fork. Squeeze in lime juice and season.

Chop tomato into small pieces ensuring to remove the pulp else the texture of your guac won’t be very appealing. Finely dice the red onion – the smaller the better. Add to bowl along with the mashed avocado and stir through.

Finely chop the coriander and along with a splash of tabasco mix through guacamole. Season to taste, give it one last thorough mixing and place in fridge until ready to serve.

