First off, I am totally aware that my use of the word Pilaf may be contentious but seeing as there are so many meanings attached to the word anyway I think I can get away with  it….just.

Next, I should say this dish is served cold. I had it for lunch – for which it is perfect and filling in every way – however, you could serve it as an accompaniment to your evening meal. It would go nicely with some marinated tofu, a large portobello, maybe some freshly baked flatbreads – it’s a really versatile dish that doesn’t fit into one specific cuisine. I’ve combined ingredients from Italy, Asia and Greece and let me tell you, it works!

Additionally you should know this is another impromtu blog post. I was spurred on to grab the camera after the first bite because I knew it was too delicious not to share. I  liked it so much I’m making it again for lunch today:)

This is my kind of cooking – I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s a matter of throwing everything into a bowl and hoping for the best because that would kinda be doing it a disservice. Luckily I had some super adaptable ingredients in my fridge but I drew the line at using everything I had in the there – you could say my choices were somewhat discerning.

I do love it when a plan comes together x

pilaf

ingredients:

1/2 cup brown basmati rice

1/2 cup frozen soy beans

2 spring onions

2 sundried tomatoes plus 2 tsp of the oil

1/2 large roasted red pepper (from a jar)

1/2 green chilli

1 garlic clove

handful freshly chopped basil

sauce

ingredients:

1/2 cup hummus

juice 1/2 lime

cracked black pepper

Place 1/2 cup of brown basmati rice in a saucepan and cover with 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil then simmer for 25mins or until all the water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork and leave to cool – you could transfer to a plate for this if you like.

Place the frozen soy beans in a bowl and cover with water from a freshly boiled kettle. Leave to thaw for several minutes, drain and set aside.

Finely chop the garlic and chilli. Also chop the tomatoes, peppers and spring onions into small pieces.

In a medium sized bowl add all the ingredients to the now cooled rice – mix thoroughly. At this stage add the oil from the jar of sundried tomatoes. You shouldn’t need because the sauce will add moisture. If you think it’s looking a little dry drizzle over some extra virgin olive oil – not too much mind, this is a healthy lunch:)

Lastly stir in the freshly chopped (or torn, your preference) basil.

For the hummus ‘sauce’ just simply thin it out by adding the juice of half a lime and a generous grind of black pepper.

Plate up the rice – I recommend a bowl – and top with the hummus.

