No, not Chilaquiles although that is next on my list! It’s no secret that I adore Mexican food and as this cuisine happens to champion beans it makes for a complete nutritious vegan meal, which is all good in my book. It may also be no secret that I’m a bit of a perfectionist and whilst I try to resist these urges on a daily basis when it comes to cooking I don’t fight it because food deserves to be perfect.

You might recognise the components of this dish – they’re pretty much the same as my Enchillada recipe, which was a big hit with many of you – yay and thankyou! Whilst I really liked this dish myself I couldn’t help but think it could be bettered so here I have transformed it from a great dish to a fantastic one.

The inclusion of the homemade refried beans has given this dish the edge it needs to truly make it a Mexican triumph. I couldn’t stop there, of course. I used passata in the mexican enchillada version but I think I prefer the tomato sauce to be less thick plus it makes for a better addition to the lasagne as the passata has a tendency to dry out. I like my sauces to be saucy;)

So there you have it – the new and improved, tweaked and tampered, perfected and primed (as in, ready to be eaten) Mexican Lasagne. If you liked my enchilladas you are gonna LOVE this! I guarantee it will be a hit with adults and children alike because a) who doesn’t like lasagne? and b) Mexican food makes you happy. Fact.

mexican lasagne

1 onion

2/3 sweet potatoes

2 cups organic sweetcorn

2 cups cooked black beans

1 can cooked borlotti/pinto beans

1 can chopped tomatoes

4 wholewheat flour tortillas

4 garlic cloves

1 scotch bonnet

1 heaped tsp cumin

paprika

1 tbsp tomato puree or organic ketchup (this is all I had)

few sprigs thyme

2/3 bay leaves

large handful chopped flat leaf parsley

2 sliced tofutti mozzarella slices (optional)

refried beans

Finely chop the onion and mince two garlic cloves. Heat a little oil in a saucepan and add the onion, season and allow it to soften gently for several minutes. Add the garlic along with the cumin and 1 tsp paprika. Cook for several more minutes.

Drain and rinse the borlotti beans. Add to the pan. Remove the thyme leaves and roughly chop before adding to the pan. Season, cover with water, add the bay leaves and simmer for 30-40minutes topping up with water if necessary.

Remove the bay leaves and mash using the back of a fork or a masher. Season. It shouldn’t be too dry but if you think it is add a little water. Keep warm on a very low heat, stirring frequently.

tomato sauce

Empty the tomatoes into a frying pan. Mince the remaining two cloves of garlic and finely chop the chilli. Add to the tomatoes along with the tomato puree/ketchup, sugar and seasoning. Stir and allow to gently simmer for 30mins.

Towards the end of the cooking time add the chopped parsley.

roasted sweet potatoes

Pre-heat the oven to 150 degrees/300 fahrenheit.

Wash the sweet potatoes, dry and chop into large chunks. Place on a baking sheet and coat in paprika, seasoning and bake in oven for 30-40mins.

assembling the lasagne

coat the bottom layer of a baking dish with a small amount of tomato sauce – just enough so the tortilla doesn’t stick to the bottom. Halve all the tortillas and layer one plus another half onto the  bottom of the dish. You can fill in the gaps by halving the tortillas again.

Spread the refried beans onto the tortillas, spoon over half the sweetcorn and black beans and top with half the roasted sweet potato and a little tomato sauce.

Repeat and top with with the remaining tomato sauce. Break the mozzarella slices into pieces and place on top if using.

Bake in oven (same temp as you baked the sweet potatoes) for 30minutes.

Serve with freshly chopped parsley.

