I’ve got to be quick as the battery is very quickly draining from my little notebook. This is our last night in Merlin – he’s served us well keeping us dry and cosy for the past week. We are so grateful to Matt and Michelle for entrusting their beloved campervan to us else we would’ve been well and truly homeless! Tomorrow we finally get to move into our new flat – woo frickin’ hoo! I’m a bit nervous because I’m one of those worrying types that always thinks something is bound to go wrong. Experience tells me it will not be straightforward but as ever we will deal with whatever surprises come our way and muster on ’cause that’s what we do.

Our last supper in the Merlinster was a curry for ease as much as anything else. I fancied a bit of spice and had some red curry paste leftover from Solihull (yes, I did bring it with me – we’re on a major budget, y’know!). The gas hob in Merlin is pretty bloody amazing for a campervan and the oven is a little beast too – I coulda and shoulda made some muffins just to prove the point. Hey ho, we were too busy having a sweet time in Cornwall and as much as I love cooking the sun beckoned.

Yesterday we went to the ‘Fair For The Future’, an eco-friendly, environmentally aware affair with good stalls, great music and even better food. We had some fresh apple juice, which rocked my world in the few gulps it took me to down it. What a fantastic vibe there is in Cornwall – I’m still glorying in the fact we live here now:)

Next up we went to Sennen to visit our friend Toby who lives in possibly the nicest house I’ve ever been in – what a view that place has! You can see the whole of Sennen Cove and then some and it’s so chilled there I always feel mega relaxed at his home. His parents are super hospitable and are very kind to let us stay over whenever we’re in the area. We cooked, ate, drank, played computer games and slept until noon – my kind of weekend;)

Right, the recipe! I’m getting there but desperately trying to not leave anything of importance out. Oh yeah, there was a stall at the fair from which you could take whatever you wanted…for free! How awesome is that! I took a little basket that is going to look too cute in our new flat.

Eek! Cooking tip – put your ginger in the freezer and it is soooo much easier to slice, mince, grate, whatever you do with it. Thanks Michelle – wi(en)nner! Also, cheers for letting me borrow your spice grinder, what a wicked little tool that is:)

A note about the photos. They were taken in very dim light (Merlin has his limits) with my pink digital fuji. Essentially, couldn’t be bothered to find the panasonic Lumix and/or the flash. Anyway, I think they evoke that make do camping feel, which we’ve been living for the past week:)

One more sleep. One more sleep. Can you tell I’m excited? The shambolic nature of this post says it all probably.

Peace out x

thai red curry

1/2 onion

1/4 fennel

5/6 baby new potatoes

1 courgette

handful of green beans

8 closed cup mushrooms

3 garlic cloves

1 tbsp freshly minced ginger

1 tbsp freshly ground cumin

2 tbsp thai red curry paste

1 can coconut milk

salt and pepper

Heat a little oil or soy butter in a pan. Finely dice the onion and add to pan along with the chopped fennel. Allow to soften for several minutes.

Mince the garlic and add to pan along with the ginger. Sweat for several minutes allowing the flavours to infuse.

Slice the courgette into moon shapes and add to pan. Quarter the potatoes and add to pan along with the ground cumin. Cook for several minutes before adding half a can of coconut milk. Stir in the curry paste and allow to simmer for a few minutes before adding the rest of the coconut milk. Season and gently simmer for 15mins.

Place a cup of basmati in a large pan. Cover with 2 cups of water, clamp on lid, bring to a boil and then simmer for 10-12mins. There should be no need to drain. Fluff with a fork.

Halve the mushrooms and add to the curry towards the end of cooking. Trim the green beans and add about 5mins before the curry is ready to be served.

Season to taste. Eat.

