This isn’t a recipe post so apologies in advance if you were duped into reading in the hope of some vegan treats. I’ve never really done a post like this before mainly because I try to avoid being too personal thinking it might creep you out a bit – you know, in the same way when you first meet a person and they tell you their entire life story in ten minutes and it leaves you feeling a bit perplexed, overwhelmed and a wee bit dirty because you shouldn’t know they’ve had a terrible childhood followed by years of self destruction until they found God and finally seen the light.

Okay, I just re-read what I wrote and it probably hasn’t helped matters so we’ll move swiftly on to the reason for my posting random pictures and thoughts. I’ve moved to Cornwall – many of you may already know this but I thought it best to point it out for the benefit of newbies. I love it here. I love it so much that when I look out of either one of my windows and see that glorious view across Penzance my heart is filled with joy and I feel so blessed to be able to live in such a beautiful place. Corny, I know!

There’s something seriously magical about this place and I can’t fully describe it as much as I try – and boy do I try. Words fail me. They really do. When my Husband first brought me to his homeland I couldn’t get over its beauty and maybe it’s the celtic connection but there was a familiar mysterious, all encompassing air, that very same one you find in my own homeland of Ireland. I immediately felt at home – maybe even more so than in my own real home – because everywhere I turned there was something that made me belong. Everyone wants to belong and being no exception to the rule I seek it out in all aspects of life, this blog being a prime example. It’s probably the reason I’m a performer too. It’s all about validation sadly but as humans that is what we crave. Am I right or am I right?

Walking along the coastal path in Praa Sands yesterday was another one those typically glorious sunny days in Cornwall but I was so aware of the sense of peace that I feel here. It’s indescribable really and beggars belief why we didn’t move here sooner. Then again, I believe it’s all about timing and in truth we probably wouldn’t have been ready to move to a remote part of the country until now. We needed to get a few things out of our system first and I wouldn’t have changed the chance to live in London and Chicago for the world – seriously two of the best cities on Earth! These experiences have made us appreciate Cornwall all the more and it’s probably why seeing a mini butterfly sends me into spirals (the photo doesn’t do its minuteness justice) and also why I’m currently obsessed with these fantastic tall grasses that you see everywhere.

I’m taking pleasure in the small things and I’m also learning to be patient – restoring old furniture is a great exercise in practicing patience, let me tell you. No sooner had I got the wicker chair sorted we purchased an authentic 60’s coffee table from a carboot sale in Hayle. You have to see this thing to believe it, it truly is awesome! I love nesting and making a house a home – I feel like I’m in a series of Kirstie’s Homemade Home.

Of course, there is the food  – I’m spoilt now with local organic produce on my doorstep and farmers markets galore. At the moment there are pumpkins sitting on the sides of country roads and all you do is choose the one you want and leave the money in the honesty box – see, small pleasures. These are some serious pumpkins too – Tim Burton eat your heart out! I found my little squash, however, at the local organic grocers down the street (and when I say down the street, we are a two minute walk from the best shopping street in Penzance). It’s almost too cute to eat but it will be going in my noodle salad at some point this week – sorry squash!

Then there are the blackberries. They are everywhere and immediately after I finish this post (and my husband buys a cable – what is it with men and cables?) we are going blackberry picking. I really want to make blackberry and mead jam but they’ll probably end up in a crumble of some sort. To think I’d never picked a blackberry and ate it until I moved here. There have been many firsts of late and I’m sure there are many more to come, which is why everyday now I thank my lucky stars to have the life I have right now. Life, most certainly, is good.

p.s. I can’t bear to leave you without a recipe so why not try this Ottolenghi Quinoa and Fennel Salad featured in this weeks Guardian.

p.p.s. if you’re in need of any inspiration check out this wonderful blog. It’s been on my blogroll for ages but I rediscovered it the other day and it really is brilliant. I’m totally envious of her yoga abilities, cooking prowess, beautiful writing and stunning good looks. Veggie Wedgie is a must read and follow!

