That’s a mouthful isn’t it? Aaaaaaand, before I go any further I should clarify a few things. The ‘biscuit’ is meant in the British sense – as in something with a cup of tea – and the Bourbon reference is because these biscuits turned out rather like that most classic of British biccies, much to my delight and has given me an idea for a another great treat. Ah, yes! The ‘better late than never’ is obviously because I’d planned to post this on Halloween but yep, you guessed it, I was busy rehearsing, although I did have time to attend a party the Theatre company threw and for which I dressed up as Tetris and carved a pumpkin with the face of Jack Skeleton. Feel free to be impressed.

Ooof, what a week and to be honest the memory of making these biscuits is rather faded – or should that be jaded? I just don’t know anymore. Anyway, what I do remember is eating them and they were really good. The important thing to note here is that they aren’t very sweet, which might seem strange for a biscuit but it was entirely intentional. Again, think Bourbons – not too sweet and actually not too chocolately, which might seem like a head scratcher given there’s a 1/4 cup of cocoa powder in the mix and they are coated with some seriously intense melted chocolate. Trust me though, this is the case and they benefit from a lack of sugar especially if you take sugar in your tea.

If I were to change anything I might go either way with the ginger – leave it out or double the amount. I’m undecided as yet and I may have to do two batches just to taste the outcome – what a hardship eating those will be! It’s definitely essential to blitz the porridge oats – the texture just won’t be right otherwise but feel free to sub the flour with one to your liking. For a gluten free biccie brown rice flour would work nicely and if you’re not keen on soya milk any other non-dairy will be just as good. The shape of these make for easy eating too and are super for dunking – just ask my hubbie who went through a box load of them at work.

Who said bat biscuits were just for Halloween! Make like a bat and use your somewhat less advanced sonar skills to find your kitchen and make these delightful little morsels at once.

Bat Biscuits

1 cup spelt flour

1/2 cup porridge oats

1/4 cup cocoa  powder

1/4 cup ground almonds

1 tsp  ground ginger

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup soya milk

1/4 cup oil

Chocolate topping

1/2 cup dairy free dark chocolate buttons

splash of soya milk

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees celsius/390 fahrenheit.

Blitz the porridge oats in a blender until they are flour like.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Combine the soya milk and oil and set it aside – it will curdle a bit, that is fine.

Gradually pour the soya/oil mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until a firm dough ball is formed. If it is too dry add a little more soya milk or if it’s too wet stop adding liquid and add some more flour.

Roll out the dough and use the cookie cutter to cut out bat shapes – or any other shape you wish. I think (can’t quite remember) I got about 18 biscuits.

Bake in oven for 20-30 minutes ensuring to keep an eye on them. Cool on a cooling rack.

Melt the chocolate buttons and soya in a heavy bottomed pan and spread on the cooled biscuits. Allow to cool/set before eating.


