I had wholly intended to blog over the weekend but my laptop got sick. I don’t get these computer virus things but thankfully my Husband knew exactly what to do and he lovingly (ok, not lovingly, more willingly) nursed my purple dell back to life. I can’t deny I totally panicked – it was the bad grammar in the warning message that bothered me the most – your’re? Your’re? Really? Once that terrifying little episode was over it was too late to post anything (i.e. I was tired), so all that was left to do was eat brownies. We ate an entire batch over the weekend and I don’t feel one bit guilty because they were go-od.

Between the brownies, the cornbread, the chilli and some delicious acai berry cocktails this was one tasty weekend. I hope to counterbalance all this indulgence though with a more virtuous week filled with greens, grains and all things fresh and nourishing. I’m off to a good start after a bowlful of quick oatmeal courtesy of The Kind Diet recipe book.

Speaking of recipe books, I’ve been making a concerted effort lately to make more dishes from my cookbooks. I mostly use them for inspiration – nothing pleases me more than to leaf through one whilst sipping on a cup of tea and noting down my favourite ideas. Rarely do I stick rigidly to a recipe. Not for any particular reason although I suppose I do prefer to cook from my own head.

After receiving the glorious Veganomicon a few weeks back, however, I have been more inclined to make these dishes without deviating from the ingredients and/or method. I’ll admit it feels slightly restrictive to me and I was sorely tempted to add a few ingredients or tamper with the quantities but I held strong and the results were worth it. I mean, these recipes have been tested a dozen times so I’m not surprised they work and taste wonderful. I’m still not cured of my flippertygibbertyness (I’m not sure that’s even possible) but I will be doing this more frequently now at least.

One of the great results to come out of my recent recipe following experience were these delightfully savoury cornbread muffins although I do have a minor confession to make – putting them in the muffin moulds was my addition to an already perfect recipe so technically I did deviate a smidge. Um…..oops? Well they do say a leopard can’t change their spots!

Oh yes…..after I wrote this post my internet decided to play up and I couldn’t upload any photos until now. All in all a pretty frustrating day. Whoopee!

vegan cornbread muffins (from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskovitz and Terry Hope Romero)

1 cup cornmeal (polenta)

1 cup plain white flour

1/8 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

pinch sea salt

1 cup unsweetened soy milk

1 tsp cider vinegar

3 tbsp oil (I used sunflower)

Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees celsius/350 degrees fahrenheit.

Combine the soy milk and cider vinegar in a bowl and allow to curdle.

Sift the cornmeal,  flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a large bowl.

Create a well in the centre and pour in the soy milk mixture and the oil. Use a spatula to combine the ingredients – don’t over work the mix.

Divide the mixture into muffin moulds and bake in the oven for 30-32 minutes. Insert a toothpick (or a groovy red cake tester utensil!) into the centre and if it comes out clean they’re done.

We had them with our chilli sin carne (almost like this pepper and black bean chilli but with kidney beans and a new twist featuring molasses, balsamic, crushed jalapenos and dark chocolate – recipe update coming soon!) and again for breakfast doused in maple syrup – oh yeah!

