Man oh man, where has this week gone? I almost forgot to go to my workout this morning because I didn’t realise it was Friday! Not that I’m complaining, it’s great to be this busy. It does mean less time to spend on lunch though – even less than the 20mins I normally enforce, which is how this ten minute broccoli soup came about. I’m pretty sure I could get it down to five if I didn’t bother sweating the onion, celery and broccoli stalk but for now it remains at ten.

Broccoli is one of those vegetables that you associate with childhood. Most kids hate it, turn their noses up and push it to the one side but not me. Generally I think I probably was a strange child – I was listening to Neil Sedaka, Elvis Costello and Sam Cooke when everyone else was into Take That and New Kids On The Block for pete’s sake. I also love, love, loved broccoli. It was my absolute favourite part of Sunday dinner. Truly. Loved it.

Now that I’m vegan my broccoli intake has quadrupled and that’s fine by me. Nothing is more satisfying than a bowl of stir fried brown rice topped with lightly steamed or blanched broccoli. That’s a total zen dish right there, let me tell you.

This soup is fast and easy (ooh er!), tastes go-od and best of all it’s homemade and therefore contains no nasties. I won’t lie, I do rely on canned soups for some lunches but I’ve managed to limit it to about once a week now. In all honesty though I don’t know why I bother because it really is just as quick to rustle up a fresh soup.

The one addition I might add to this already yum yum soup next time is a touch of freshly grated nutmeg – just a pinch. Aside from that I wouldn’t alter anything else. It was creamy, smooth, delicate yet tasty and I can tell you now I had two bowlfuls.

Ready, set, go make that broccoli soup!

ingredients

1 small broccoli (incl.stalk)

1 small yellow onion

1 celery stick

1 tsp vegan vegetable stock granules or 1/2 stock cube

1/4 cup soya milk

1 tbsp oil

salt and pepper

Heat a little oil in a pan. Finely chop the onion, celery and broccoli stalk (it will add so much flavour) and add to pan. Season and gently sweat for a few minutes ensuring it doesn’t colour.

Add the broccoli florets and cover with water. Sprinkle in the vegetable stock and stir to dissolve.

Cover pan and allow to simmer for a few minutes until the florets soften a little.

Transfer to a blender, add the soya milk, season and blitz until smooth.

Return to pan and gently heat. Check for seasoning – if you’re like me you’ll like it mega peppery.

Serve!

