In case you weren’t aware, I’m currently representing vegans over at online magazine Brew Drinking Thinkings. There’s been a few changes of late, as it’s gone from being a weekly publication to a monthly one, which is fine by me, as it gives me a wee bit of breathing space to get my blog under control and donate more time to my weekly Marcus Samuelsson contributions.

This recipe is taken from the most recent BDT publication – one of four recipes I might add, so be expecting a few more blog posts like this. I hope you don’t mind or think I’m being incredibly lazy by just linking to a recipe on another site. After all, it’s still my recipe. Just think of it as an extension of PeaSoupEats. Is that cool? I hope so. I really don’t want to neglect my readers. I love you guys. Too much? Okay, I’ll stop.

Apologies for my inappropriate display of cyber affection. I’m feeling a bit vulnerable at present. Nothing to be overly concerned about and I don’t want to go into details right now but suffice to say whatever the outcome we have been given the push we need to completely cut sugar out of our diet. It’s a relief in some ways because we’ve been aiming to do this for a while now – we tried and failed a couple of months back.

Not that we have an insane amount of the white stuff in our diet anyways – in fact, what sugar we do have is the less processed organic kind and I only ever use it in baking, which is fairly infrequently. Now that I’ve gone gaga over raw desserts, which generally contains no refined sugar, it’s not going to be such a big stretch to cut it out entirely. Hubbie had his first cup of tea sans sugar ever this morning and he actually quite liked it. Sure, it’ll take getting used to (we’re not that idealistic) but being vegan, and healthy vegans at that, I feel we’re three quarters of the way there already.

It seems rather appropriate then that the recipe I’m linking to here doesn’t contain any refined sugar. Yes, there are syrups and yes, maple syrup has a pretty high GI (glycemic index) so feel free to sub the little amount of maple syrup there is for something more GI friendly like agave or stevia. I realise there is loads of conflicting literature and information regarding agave so if you want to avoid it completely there are plenty of alternatives. Did you know stevia has a glycemic index rating of less than 1? Mental! Xylitol is pretty good too with a rating of 7 and date syrup is another excellent low GI alternative.

Actually, if you can’t get your hands on date syrup then four or five medjool dates should do the trick in this recipe and eaten in moderation can be very good for you. Just remember to remove the stone before putting them in the blender!

Finally, the recipe…… Avocado Chocolate Pudding. Enjoy! Mwah!

