I’m not one for jarred sauces but when I was offered the chance to review one for the online magazine I write for I thought ‘why not!’. I hope I gave it a fair review – just because I got a free jar of sauce doesn’t mean I’m going to rave about it, that is so totally not my style. In fact, this was my first ever freebie and in all honesty I have mixed feelings about it; about getting it for free and subsequently semi-promoting it. In some ways I did feel under a little pressure to say nice things but in the end I went with honesty and everything I said was the truth – it wasn’t bad and it wasn’t brilliant, it was fine.

I suppose that’s why they send you out these things – in the hope you’ll big it up and encourage others to buy whatever it is they’re selling. Personally, I really hate feeling like someone is trying to sell me stuff – it immediately makes me think I can’t trust anything they say. You could say I have a huge aversion to advertising in any form but that doesn’t mean I’m not susceptible. I’m probably what you’d call a total sucker. In my opinion though the best advertising is the subtle kind where you don’t even realise you’re being manipulated – for example, there is no way on this earth I could walk past Anthroplogie without being drawn inside only to fill my basket to the brim and pop out the other side having spent a small fortune. Now that is clever marketing ’cause a girl (this girl) can never resist the pretty!

Speaking of Anthropologie, I had a very successful (when are they not?) trip there over the weekend. My excuse for making an unnecessary dent in our bank account (poor Hubbie) is always my blog – I need a variety of props to keep things interesting. Not for me, of course. For my readers. That’s you! So, if you look at it that way, I’ve bought these pretty accoutrements for your pleasure and really, when you think about it, that is a truly selfless act.

Where was I? Oh yes, the sauce. Read the review. Check out the little recipe I put together to bring out the best it had to offer and maybe purchase a jar yourself. Or not. It’s entirely up to you.

