I feel like I’ve been posting a lot of salad recipes of late. Then again, it is the summer (or so I’m told – bog off rain!) and that’s what I feel like eating most of the time.

So here I am with yet another salad. A simple salad using bits I had in the fridge plus some leftover red pepper mix from the previous days savoury muffins – which have now all been eaten! Yup. All gone.

I’m beginning to wonder if I’m in a food rut of sorts. I’m still undecided. It might just be that i’m in a food groove but for the moment the jury is out. This thought came to be after reading one of the latest posts from Seitan Is My Motor (another fabulous vegan blog – get it on your blogroll!) who seems to experiencing a certain food rut at the minute. It happens to the best of us. I distinctly remember Joy The Baker (how many times have I plugged this site now) having a bit of a food/blog lull not so long ago. Not that I’m putting myself in the same league as either of these wonderful bloggers, mind you, but I feel their pain.

You see, when all you do is make food, photograph food, think about food, write about food, at some point something is going to give. Sometimes that something is inspiration and it can happen when you least expect it. One minute you can be one top of the world, riding the crest of a beautiful wave and the next thing you know you’re being tumbled around like ragdoll in the white water that is every idea, doubt, niggle you had about you, your ability, your validity to the cyber food world. The next thing you know, nada. Completely void of anything interesting to say, make or do.

Now, I’m not saying I’m there at the moment but I can feel it coming so I’m currently warding it off by just making stuff. Anything. Salads. Simple salads.

I’m also distracting myself with fashion – it’s what I do when I need to completely escape from any sort of reality. You might not be aware but I loves me some fashion. I’ve always been a threads freak and have spent my life trying to put together the most unusual outfits that echo what’s going on in the fashion world without looking like I’ve pulled on all the clobber from the display window – there’s nothing worse than a fashion victim. My interest started young because my Mother always ensured we wore the very best and I can remember to this day some of the ensembles I used to strut (okay skip) around in. A certain red velour tracksuit (think cool retro not Juicy Couture) springs to mind – dang, I loved that thing.

My clothes have always been an extension of me – they are a big part of how I express myself. I’m definitely a vintage girl but like to mix it up with new pieces and, of course, now that I’m vegan I don’t buy any animal products such as leather goods (why would you need to with Matt&Nat on the market), suede (makes me cry now), lambskin (really? and aren’t uggs at bit passe now anyways?), fur (no brainer) and so on and so forth.

Just because I can’t partake in a lot of fashion on the highstreet (that’s my budget) doesn’t mean I can’t have fun or enjoy mainstream blogs. Take this one for example. Grasie Mercedes is a stylist, actress, host, blogger and new contributor to HelloGiggles, the collaborative blog/website from Zooey Deschanel (now there’s a girl who know how to dress) and friends. Grasie is fabulous and oozes style. When I first clapped eyes on her blog I was instantly hooked. Even though there is lots of non-vegan fashion on the blog that doesn’t detract from the beautiful and unique outfit’s she pulls together and doesn’t mean I can’t take inspiration – I just put my own vegan friendly spin on it.

People often think vegans walk around wearing ill fitting tie dye t-shirts, flowing long skirts and sandals. Maybe some do but this one right here has her eye firmly on the fashion ball and right now there seems to be a surge in eco and vegan friendly lines even from the big designers. Viv Westwood (one of my all time favs) has been pioneering vegan footwear for a while now after teaming up with vegan shoe company Melissa. I adore all their styles and only wish the price didn’t prevent me from owning every one from the range.

I seemed to have gotten all sidetracked. Back to the salad. This was an unexpected delight. I wasn’t feeling very hungry when I made it and was after a light dish with minimal effort (the red pepper mix, which would’ve been the effort part was already made). Yes, this also has blueberries in it – I told you, obsessed.

One more thing, I awoke yesterday morning to discover two of my recipes were featured on the Huffington Post. THE HUFFINGTON POST, Y’ALL!!! They were two salads (erm…..)  I contributed to the ever wonderful Marcus Samuelsson and I was so chuffed to see my recipes selected, as there are a lot of excellent recipes on that site. You can vote for your favourites on the Huffington Post site. Mines are the Superfoods Salad and the Bulgar Wheat, Radish and Watermelon ones. If you have a minute to spare, please please vote. I will be forever grateful.

Here’s the link again – go vote!

simple salad

1/2 head little gem lettuce

1 small cooked beetroot (not pickled)

handful of fresh blueberries

red pepper mix

handful of mixed seeds (sunflower, pine, pumpkin)

dressing

1 tsp dijon

1 tsp cider vinegar

small squeeze agave

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small crushed garlic clove

1 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper

nb. the arrangement is crucial….

Roughly chop the little gem and place in a bowl. Roughly chop the beetroot and scatter on top.

Put all the dressing ingredients in an empty jar and shake until it emulsifies. Spoon over the lettuce and beetroot – you may not need to use it all. If there is some left, screw a lid on and keep it in the fridge. It’ll be good for a few days.

Wash the blueberries and place in bowl. Sprinkle over the seeds.

Top everything the red pepper mix – recipe can be found here.

Eat.

